His Hand Brings Comfort To My Soul

His arms

In 1 Peter 2:2-3 (NIV), it says “like newborn babies, crave pure spiritual milk, so that by it you may grow up in your salvation, now that you have tasted that the Lord is good.”

I will be honest with all of you: One of the main reasons why I haven’t been too active on my page lately was because I felt as if I was slowly being pulled away from hearing God’s Word, knowing that those lonesome days was when I needed Him the most and to hear all of you and your uplifting words. Because I was not being a ‘tough-as-nails fighter’ when it came to disputing or arguing with anyone, I was told that I have too many other people that walk over me. It’s not that, but rather, I chose to stick with a different plan that the Lord desired for me to walk.

In Matthew 5:38-40 (NIV), this is a message Jesus wanted us to know. It quotes: “You have heard that it was said, ‘Eye for eye, and tooth for tooth.’But I tell you, do not resist an evil person. If anyone slaps you on the right cheek, turn to them the other cheek also. 40 And if anyone wants to sue you and take your shirt, hand over your coat as well.”

So consider me still a ‘calf or babe’ in the Lord. I am not perfect, nor do I see myself above anyone else. I can’t argue like a relative can or a friend can. Believe me: I’ve tried that tactic before and currently deal with moments of someone trying to keep me active in that kind of behavior, but I’m still praying to stay away from it. In addition, the same ending always happens: I feel guilty (whether I am the cause for the dispute), I feel a strong and emotional pain within my heart and chest, and apologize first.

All I know is that there is something inside of me that is causing me to be the way I am. I’d rather sacrifice my life before others, I’d rather make others happy and feel better (writing them uplifting poems, help them after my school’s days. etc) than see them sad, and I’d rather put up with the insults now rather than later because I DO NOT want to hear them later on while dealing with other future life issues. Which is probably why when I see someone cry, I tear up as well. This is one of those sympathetic questions and mysteries about myself that I just never… understood.

In the end of the day, I feel so much relief, comfort, and solace in His arms. I’m announcing it, saying it, and… I continue to crave more and more of His Word and hearing the inspiring messages from all of you. I remember watching a movie titled “Passion of the Christ”, and one of the images I still recall was of when Jesus was hit, spit on, and bad mouthed so badly by everyone that he still believed, stood back up, and kept moving  on to His destination through Jerusalem. I can never do, sacrifice, or face the hardest challenges He has been through, but I never gave up on turning to Him, praying to Him, and turning to Him whenever I am afraid or I need help. He gives me peace, and I am thankful for that. 🙂

 

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.